3601 McDonough Street, Joliet, IL 60431

Call Us815-727-0100

McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC

Joliet weapons violations attorneysThe Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution protects citizens’ rights to keep and bear arms. Although gun rights can be quite controversial, many people believe that it is important to defend themselves in the event they are ever attacked. Certain states have their own laws pertaining to concealed or open carry of handguns. Currently, open carry is not legal in the state of Illinois. Concealed carry refers to carrying a firearm or other weapon in public in a concealed or hidden manner. 

Illinois gun owners must first obtain a Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card before they can qualify for a concealed carry license (CCL). Once they have this permit, they must obey a strict set of regulations in order to keep their firearm. Not only can a violation lead to losing their license, but spending on the circumstances, an offender can face criminal charges, with penalties that include jail time and costly fines. 

Illinois Gun Laws

Under Illinois law, a valid FOID card is necessary to purchase and possess a gun in the state. Those individuals who own a FOID but who do not have a CCL are still permitted to transport guns as long as they are unloaded and enclosed in a case, firearm carrying box, shipping box, or another type of container. The Illinois State Police issues FOID cards, which are valid for 10 years. 

...

Will County child endangerment defense attorneyIn today’s modern world, people are busy, often juggling taking care of a family while working or going to school. It is not uncommon for parents to take their kids on a quick errand. In some cases, they may even leave them in the car while they run into the bank or store if they can keep an eye on them through the window. However, in some cases, this can result in criminal charges for the parent, depending on the ages of the children who are left unattended. Illinois law specifies penalties for adults who endanger the life of a minor child (under 18), and in some cases, these situations may result in domestic violence or abuse charges. Child endangerment is defined as placing a minor in a situation where he or she could be hurt or killed. 

Child Endangerment 

According to Illinois law, parents who leave their children unattended and out of their view may be charged with child endangerment, a Class A misdemeanor. This crime carries a penalty of up to one year in jail and a $2,500 fine if convicted. The law applies to children age 6 and under who are left inside a car for 10 minutes or more without anyone who is at least age 14 with them or within eyesight. These charges may apply regardless of whether the vehicle is running or not. 

If the person who is charged is the child’s parent, he or she may receive probation depending on the details of the case. However, a second or subsequent conviction for child endangerment is charged as a Class 3 felony in Illinois. 

...

Joliet criminal defense lawyerTheft can encompass many different actions, not just taking something that is not yours. Identity theft is the deliberate use of another person’s identity, typically to gain a financial advantage or obtain credit and other benefits. Often considered a “white-collar crime,” identity theft has become prevalent in recent decades due to the emergence of the Internet and online computing for banking, shopping, and other activities. Stealing someone’s identity can have serious consequences in Illinois, including prison and hefty fines depending on the circumstances of the case. If you are facing charges for any theft crime, it is imperative that you speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to protect your rights. 

What Actions Constitute Identity Theft?

Identity theft often precedes financial crimes such as credit card fraud, and in these scenarios, alleged offenders can also face charges for the financial crime. Identity theft occurs when an individual takes someone else’s personal identification, without permission, or any other information that can be used to access a person’s medical documents or financial resources, such as the following:

  • Name

    ...

Joliet criminal defense lawyerThere are certain crimes that are often misunderstood. For example, theft, burglary, and robbery are similar, but they all involve slightly different actions and can carry separate punishments. Home invasion is a related offense, and many people might think it is not that significant. However, it is actually the most serious burglary charge since it typically involves an act of violence. According to Illinois law, home invasion is committed when a person knowingly enters the dwelling place of another when he or she knows that the owner is present. With crimes of this nature, it can be difficult to prove intent in court, but regardless, it is essential that you understand your legal options when facing such charges by consulting a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney.  

Actions that Constitute Home Invasion

The crime of home invasion is not just breaking into someone’s home without his or her permission. It also means the offender entered without permission, knowing that the owner was home, and includes any of the following:

  • Was armed with a firearm or another weapon while threatening or using force

    ...

Joliet criminal defense lawyerDriving is considered a privilege in many states, including Illinois. There are many traffic violations that can result in the loss of your driving privileges. Some of these include driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol, aggravated speeding, and leaving the scene of a car accident with injuries, to name a few. Depending on the severity of the moving violation, a person can have his or her license suspended or revoked for months or even years. In order to reinstate your driver’s license after a suspension, there are several legal steps that must be taken. An experienced criminal defense attorney can assist motorists with important details. 

Steps to Getting Your License Back

In Illinois, first-time DUI offenders may attend an informal hearing as long as the offense did not result in great bodily harm or the death of another person. However, if it is a second or subsequent offense, or the incident resulted in an injury or fatality, then the defendant will have to attend a formal hearing. 

Regardless of the type of hearing, a driver who wishes to reinstate his or her license must do the following:

...
Will County Bar Association Illinois State Bar Association Lions Minooka AV 2019 Rotary DuPage County Bar Association
Back to Top