3601 McDonough Street, Joliet, IL 60431

Call Us815-727-0100

McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC

What Happens if I Carry a Gun in Will County Without a Concealed Carry Permit?

 Posted on February 10, 2022 in Criminal Defense

Joliet weapons violations attorneyHaving a gun on your person or in your car in Illinois without a concealed carry permit is a gun crime. Illinois does not allow open carry, which is the practice of openly having a firearm in public. Therefore, in order to go anywhere with a gun outside of your home, you must have a concealed carry permit in Illinois (excluding transportation of firearms, which only requires the gun to be contained in an enclosed case). 

Only people who are 21 and older, who have completed the appropriate training course, and who have a Firearm Owners Identification Card (FOID) may have a concealed carry permit, and only handguns may be concealed. While following these rules may seem onerous, they are absolutely essential for preventing criminal charges. If you have been charged with a concealed carry permit violation, you may want the help of a criminal defense attorney. 

Concealed Carry License Violations in Illinois

Certain areas may not have guns brought into them, even with a concealed carry license. Schools, government buildings such as courthouses, and buildings in state and national parks do not allow concealed carrying. Carrying or using a firearm illegally in these places, even with a concealed carry license, is considered an Unlawful Use of a Weapon (UUW) offense. 

In places where concealed carry is permitted, the first time someone is caught with a concealed handgun without a concealed carry license is a Class A misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors are the most serious misdemeanors in Illinois and can carry up to a year in jail and fines up to $25,000. 

Any subsequent offense is a Class 3 felony and your concealed carry permit may be permanently revoked, no matter how far apart the offenses are. You may still be charged with a UUW if you have a concealed carry license but forgot to bring it with you. Charges for Class 3 felonies convictions allow prison sentences between 5-10 years and fines up to $25,000. 

Call a Joliet Criminal Defense Attorney

Illinois gun owners are responsible for ensuring they follow the law and keep themselves and those around them safe. If you have been charged with a violation of Illinois’ concealed carry laws, consider hiring an experienced Joliet criminal defense attorney with McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC right away. Crimes such as this may seem small, but a conviction can still have the potential to impact your life in major ways. For help protecting your constitutional rights, call us today at 815-727-0100 to schedule a free case review. 





Share this post:
Will County Bar Association Illinois State Bar Association Lions Minooka AV 2019 Rotary DuPage County Bar Association Workers Compensation Lawyers Association
Back to Top