3601 McDonough Street, Joliet, IL 60431

Call Us815-727-0100

McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC

Have Illinois Gun Laws Changed Since the COVID-19 Crisis?

 Posted on April 29, 2020 in Criminal Defense

Will County weapons charges defense attorney

Regulations regarding firearms and weapons are taken very seriously in the state of Illinois due to the possible risk that they can pose to citizens and the high number of shootings that occur in the United States every day. However, the debate continues — do people feel more or less safe with a gun in their hands? Many Americans argue that owning a gun and being able to defend themselves if necessary provides them with a high level of reassurance. Infringing on the Second Amendment is not something that all U.S. lawmakers necessarily wish to do, but keeping people safe is also one of their main priorities. For this reason, Illinois residents are able to possess a gun as long as they follow the rules and regulations that are in place. Coronavirus has resulted in many changes throughout the country, including gun regulations. COVID-19 has actually led to a spike in gun purchases and a loosening of these regulations to adhere to the societal changes resulting from this pandemic.

What Permits Are Needed to Own a Gun?

In order to possess and carry a gun in Illinois, there are two separate permits needed. A Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card is required for anyone to legally possess firearms or ammunition in Illinois. This is issued by the Illinois State Police to qualified applicants. There are also a number of eligibility rules to obtain a FOID card, most of which look at the applicant’s criminal background. For example, he or she cannot be convicted of a felony or be the subject of an order of protection due to domestic violence.  

Those applying for a FOID card must also meet these three requirements:

  1. Possess a valid ID or driver’s license

  2. Have a photograph taken within the last 30 days (showing head and shoulders)

  3. Pay a $10 fee for the card

Concealed Carry Licenses (CCL) require more training and have more restrictions tied to them. Illinois residents must be at least 21 years of age, have a valid FOID card, and not have a criminal background. They must also have 16 hours of valid training, be able to provide residency information for at least 10 years, have fingerprints taken, and pay a $150 fee.

What Has Changed?

For obvious reasons, both FOID cards and CCLs have an expiration date on them that requires the owners to renew them upon a certain date. Typically, this is a strict deadline, but with the “stay at home” order in place and offices closed for the health and safety of Illinoisans, these deadlines and requirements have been adjusted to the following until the end of the state’s disaster proclamation:

  1. FOID holders’ cards will remain valid throughout the duration of the pandemic and for an additional 12 months after its end as long as they submit their renewal application.

  2. CCL licensees’ cards will remain valid throughout the duration of the pandemic and for an additional 12 months after its end as long as they submit their renewal application.

  3. CCL renewal applicants will no longer be required to submit immediate proof of three-hour renewal training with their application. Proof of this three-hour renewal training will need to be submitted within 12 months of the end of the state’s order.

Call a Joliet Criminal Defense Attorney

These regulation adjustments were announced at the beginning of April by the Illinois State Police. Because the changes are so recent, there may be some confusion about the specifics of the adjustments which could lead you to unintentional criminal charges. At McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC, our five attorneys have 150 years of combined experience with clients in Illinois. We have continued to prioritize our clients’ rights throughout the pandemic and are well-informed on all legal changes happening at this time. If you are facing weapons charges and need legal assistance, contact our Will County weapons charges defense lawyers at 815-727-0100 for a free consultation.








Share this post:
Will County Bar Association Illinois State Bar Association Lions Minooka AV 2019 Rotary DuPage County Bar Association Workers Compensation Lawyers Association
Back to Top