3601 McDonough Street, Joliet, IL 60431

Call Us815-727-0100

McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC

What Options Are Available for First-Time DUI Offenders in Illinois?

 Posted on April 30, 2019 in DUI

Will County DUI defense attorney MDDP IIDIllinois law enforcement officers arrest approximately 27,000 people each year for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Of those arrested, around 86 percent are first-time DUI offenders, and 91 percent lose their driving privileges in some capacity.

With the help of a skilled DUI lawyer, you may have your case dismissed if police did not read you your Miranda rights or failed to properly administer standardized field sobriety testing, or if your blood-alcohol concentration was incorrectly measured by a malfunctioning breathalyzer. If none of these occurred, your attorney can still help minimize the impact of the arrest on your everyday life. While police and the courts vigorously enforce Illinois DUI laws, there are allowances for those with no prior DUI arrests or convictions.

Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) 

A first-time offender who is not charged with aggravated DUI can apply for an MDDP from the Illinois Secretary of State’s office. This allows unrestricted driving privileges during your six-month license suspension through the installation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID). This device only allows a vehicle’s ignition to start after the driver successfully completes a breathalyzer that also captures an image of the driver and records it in the Secretary of State’s online system. The driver must also pass periodic tests while the vehicle is in operation.

These devices are utilized by around 10,000 drivers throughout Illinois at any given time. An MDDP does not apply to vehicles driven professionally by commercial driver’s license (CDL) holders, and no one whose DUI resulted in great bodily harm or death to another person is eligible.

Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) 

Some individuals convicted of DUI may be eligible for this type of permit, which allows for transportation to and from work or other agreed upon tasks. To obtain an RDP, you may have to prove your hardship, submit to an alcohol or drug evaluation, or provide proof of treatment. You must appear at a hearing that will assess your driving record and potential danger to the community.

Contact a Will County First-Time DUI Lawyer

One mistake should not severely impact your ability to earn a living, go to school, or perform other necessary daily tasks. At McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC, we will fight to keep a DUI conviction off your record and preserve your ability to drive as needed each day. To speak with a trusted Joliet DUI attorney, call us today for a free consultation at 815-727-0100.



Share this post:
Will County Bar Association Illinois State Bar Association Lions Minooka AV 2019 Rotary DuPage County Bar Association Workers Compensation Lawyers Association
Back to Top