3601 McDonough Street, Joliet, IL 60431

Call Us815-727-0100

McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC

Will I Go to Jail for Getting My First DUI in Will County, Illinois?

 Posted on February 25, 2022 in DUI

Will County DUI defense attorneyIt is the morning after a fun night with friends. You wake up, your head hurts, and then your stomach sinks as you remember - you were arrested last night for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. This happens to about 35,000 people every year in Illinois and even though you may have never thought it would happen to you, now you have to deal with the consequences. 

Will I go to jail? Will I lose my license? All of these are questions we frequently hear from first-time DUI clients. While the specific punishments can depend on the case and your previous criminal record, it is important to take your first DUI seriously and hire an Illinois DUI defense lawyer so you can make the appropriate amends and avoid harsher sanctions in the future. 

What Are the Penalties for a First-Time DUI in Illinois? 

Someone’s first DUI offense is a Class A misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors are the most serious misdemeanor charges and one could land you in jail for up to a year, along with up to $2,500 in fines. For strictly first-time DUI offenses, it is rare to be hit with the harshest penalties available - more often, there will be a mandatory $500 minimum fine, probation, and possibly substance abuse counseling. 

You will also likely have your driver’s license suspended for a year. While you can apply for a restricted driving permit so you can get to work and attend appointments, you will have to install an ignition device that prevents your car from starting if you have alcohol on your breath. 

However, all this applies to the charge of a DUI alone. If you were involved in a car crash, had a minor in your car, had a blood alcohol content over .016 percent, got into a scuffle with police, or had illegal items like weapons or drugs in your car, you could be hit with far harsher penalties. An experienced DUI criminal defense lawyer can help you determine whether to take a plea deal, fight your charges, represent you at trial, and support you throughout your case. 

Meet with an Aggressive Will County DUI Defense Lawyer

The consequences of driving under the influence are serious and can impact your life for many years to come. If you have been charged with a DUI, get the help of an experienced Will County DUI defense attorney right away. At McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC, we aggressively assist our clients and work hard to create a strong criminal defense case. We have helped many clients get their DUIs reduced or dropped altogether. Call us today at 815-727-0100 to schedule a free initial consultation. 




Share this post:
Will County Bar Association Illinois State Bar Association Lions Minooka AV 2019 Rotary DuPage County Bar Association Workers Compensation Lawyers Association
Back to Top