3601 McDonough Street, Joliet, IL 60431

Call Us815-727-0100

McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC

Avoid A Repeat DUI Conviction This Holiday Season

 Posted on November 10, 2022 in DUI

Will County, IL repeat DUI defense attorneyA 53-year-old Joliet man landed in the Will County Jail after Joliet police said he was pulled over for improper lane usage. The man had a revoked driver’s license for previous DUI arrests. When you are facing possible repeat DUI charges in Illinois, you absolutely must invest in retaining legal counsel as soon as possible.

Prosecutors handling repeat DUI cases are seeking convictions and want to ensure that alleged offenders will be punished accordingly. You will need proven legal help in defending yourself against what are, in many cases, felony charges.

Repeat DUI Penalties in Illinois

The good news is that, so long as a case does not involve any aggravating factors, first and second DUI convictions in Illinois are usually Class A misdemeanors punishable by fines of up to $2,500 and/or up to one year in jail. The problem becomes that a third or fourth DUI offense is a Class 2 felony, a fifth offense is a Class 1 felony, and a sixth or subsequent offense is a Class X felony.

A person can also face Class 4 felony charges if they did not have a valid driver’s license or automobile insurance at the time of a DUI offense. When an alleged offender is involved in a crash causing great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement, the offense is a Class 4 felony, but an offense causing death can be a Class 2 felony.

A repeat DUI committed while an alleged offender is transporting a child under 16 years of age is a Class 2 felony. Any DUI involving a crash causing bodily harm to a child can also be a Class 2 felony.

When it comes to felony offenses in Illinois, Class X is the highest degree followed by Class 1, 2, 3, and 4. For every grade of felony, the maximum allowable fine will be $25,000.

The allowable prison sentence for a felony increases with the grade of felony, such that a Class X is punishable by up to 30 years in prison, Class 1 is punishable by up to 15 years in prison, Class 2 is punishable by up to seven years in prison, Class 3 is punishable by up to five years in prison, and Class 4 is punishable by up to three years in prison.

Call Us Today to Speak with a Will County Repeat DUI Lawyer

If you happen to find yourself facing DUI charges in Will County, be sure to quickly seek the help of a Joliet repeat DUI attorney at McNamara Phelan McSteen, LLC. Our firm will be able to develop the strongest possible defense in your case and help you try to clear your good name. You can call 815-727-0100 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.



Share this post:
Will County Bar Association Illinois State Bar Association Lions Minooka AV 2019 Rotary DuPage County Bar Association Workers Compensation Lawyers Association
Back to Top